Ministry of Mines

Thirty Critical Minerals List Released

Stepped up Focus on Exploration of Critical Minerals

Posted On: 24 JUL 2023 2:38PM by PIB Delhi

Government has released a list of 30 critical minerals for India.  These minerals are Antimony, Beryllium, Bismuth, Cobalt, Copper, Gallium, Germanium, Graphite, Hafnium, Indium, Lithium, Molybdenum, Niobium, Nickel, PGE, Phosphorous, Potash, REE,Rhenium, Silicon, Strontium, Tantalum, Tellurium, Tin, Titanium, Tungsten, Vanadium,Zirconium, Selenium and Cadmium.

Ministry of Mines has increased focus on exploration of these minerals in the country through Geological Survey of India (GSI) and other agencies.  The details of exploration projects taken up by GSI in last 3 years on critical minerals in India are as under:

Field Season





Total projects on critical mineral





A joint venture company namely Khanij Bidesh India Ltd. (KABIL) has been incorporated with the equity contribution from three Central Public Sector Enterprises namely, National Aluminium Company Ltd, Hindustan Copper Ltd and Mineral Exploration Company Ltd with the objective to identify and acquire overseas mineral assets of critical & strategic nature such as Lithium, Cobalt & others so as to ensure supply side assurance. KABIL has engagements with countries like Argentina, Australia etc. to acquire critical & strategic minerals assets.

This information was given by Union Minister of Coal, Mines and Parliamentary Affairs Shri Pralhad Joshi in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.



(Release ID: 1942027) Visitor Counter : 20684