Ministry of Law and Justice
azadi ka amrit mahotsav g20-india-2023


Posted On: 23 MAR 2023 5:45PM by PIB Delhi

The delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies was done according to the procedure laid down in the Delimitation Act, 2002.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has informed that in accordance with the provisions of the Delimitation Act, 2002 (33 of 2002), the Delimitation Commission received assistance in redrawing boundaries from State Election Commissioners, Chief Electoral Officers and Associate Members from the States concerned as well as with the Registrar General & Census Commissioner of India and simultaneously suggestions were also taken from stakeholders.

The State Governments have no role in redesigning the borders of constituencies.

The seats for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes were reserved as per the Constitutional and Legal provisions i.e. articles 330 and 332 of the Constitution of India read with sections 9(1)(c) and 9(1)(d) of the Delimitation Act, 2002.

As informed by the ECI, under the provisions of the Delimitation Act, 2002, the then Delimitation Commission had conducted public sittings in all concerned States/Union territories to hear the suggestions/ objections received from the public/political parties/organisations or otherwise w.r.t. its draft proposals published in the Central and State Gazettes.  Further, after consideration of all suggestions/objections as received w.r.t. draft proposals or in the public sittings, the Delimitation Commission published its final orders in the Central and State Gazettes for public information.  The details information is already in public domain on the Commission’s website under the head “Delimitation”.

As per existing law, the next delimitation exercise may be conducted after the first census to be taken after the year 2026.      

This information was given by the Union Minister of Law & Justice, Shri Kiren Rijiju, in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.



(Release ID: 1910038) Visitor Counter : 7620

Read this release in: Urdu , Marathi