Ministry of Earth Science

Earthquake Early Warning System

Posted On: 15 MAR 2021 3:15PM by PIB Delhi

Considering the recorded history of earthquakes in the country, a total of ~59% of the land mass of India is prone to earthquakes of different intensities. As per the seismic zoning map of the country, the total area is classified into four seismic zones. Zone V is seismically the most active region, while zone II is the least. Approximately, ~ 11% area falls in zone V, ~18% in zone IV, ~ 30% in zone III and remaining in zone II.

The cities of the country falling under very high-risk zone V/highly vulnerable zone, state/UT wise, are given below:


State: Cities

Andaman and Nicobar Island: All cities


Bihar: Araria, Sitamarhi, Darbhanga, Madhubani, Motihari, Saharsa, Kishanganj,Madhepura, Saharsa, Supaul

Gujarat: Bhuj

Himachal Pradesh: Hamirpur, Dharamsala, Chamba, Mandi, Kullu

Jammu Kashmir: Srinagar

NE states: All cities of Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland

Uttarakhand: Pithoragarh, Chamoli, Rudraprayag, Bageswar, Almora

West Bengal: Cooch Behar


\NDMA has been conducting regular awareness campaigns every year through print, electronic   as well as social media from time to time, on earthquakes that include precautions for building safety from earthquakes. Also, Guidelines have been published by the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS), Building Materials & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC) and Housing and Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO) etc. for design and construction of earthquake resistant structures to minimize the loss of life and damage to property caused by earthquakes. These guidelines are in wide circulation amongst the public and the administrative authorities responsible for the design and construction of earthquake resistant structures in earthquake prone areas.

Presently, no proven system exists in the country to provide the early warning of earthquakes. Moreover, there is no scientific technique available anywhere in the world to predict an earthquake precisely in terms of time, location and its magnitude.

This information was given by Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister for Science & Technology, Earth Sciences and Health & Family Welfare in a written reply in Lok Sabha on March 12, 2021.




(Release ID: 1704836) Visitor Counter : 620

Read this release in: Urdu