Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Finance
11-March-2016 17:48 IST
National Investment and Manufacturing Zones (NIMZs)

The Government has announced eight Investment Regions along the Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) project as National Investment and Manufacturing Zones (NIMZs). The details are as under:


i)                    Ahmedabad-Dholera Investment Region, Gujarat

ii)                  Shendra-Bidkin Industrial Part city near Aurangabad, Maharashtra

iii)                Manesar-Bawal Investment Region, Haryana

iv)                Khushkhera-Bhiwadi-Neemrana Investment Region, Rajasthan

v)                  Pithampur-Dhar-Mhow Investment Regioin, Madhya Pradesh

vi)                Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad investment Region, Uttar Pradesh

vii)              Dighi Port Industrial Area, Maharashtra, and

viii)            Jodhpur-Pali-Marwar Region in Rajasthan.


Fourteen NIMZs outside the DMIC region have also been given in-principle approval (i) Nagpur in Maharashtra, (ii) Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh, (iii) Chittoor in Andhra Pradesh, (iv) Medak in Telangana, (v) Hyderabad Pharma NIM in Rangareddy and Mahbubnagar Districts of Telangana, (vi) Tumkur in Karnataka, (vii) Kolar in Karnataka, (viii) Bidar in Karnataka, (ix) Gulbarga in Karnataka, (x) Kalinganagar, Jajpur District in Odisha, (xi) Ramanathapuram District of Tamil Nadu, (xii) Ponneri, Thiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu, (xiii) Auraiya District in Uttar Pradesh, and (xiv) Jhansi District in Uttar Pradesh.


Out of these NIMZs, the NIMZs at (i) Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh and (ii) Medak in Telangana have been granted final approval. The National Manufacturing Policy is based on the principle of industrial growth in partnership with the States. It is the prerogative of the States to adopt the instrumentalities provided by the policy.


For the Financial Year 2016-17, Rs. 3.35 crores has been earmarked under the ‘Scheme for Implementation of National Manufacturing Policy’ for ‘Master Planning of NIMZs’ and Technology Acquisition and Development Fund (TADF).



This was stated by Shri Jayant Sinha, Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance in written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.