Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs
15-December-2015 19:02 IST
AMRUT Action Plans for 474 cities cleared with a project outlay of Rs.19,170cr

UP to invest Rs.4,646cr and Karnataka-Rs.1,258 cr to improve basic urban infrastructure

UD Ministry asks UP to reduce Non-Revenue Water and Karnataka to increase State’s share

The Ministry of Urban Development has so far approved city level Action Plans for improving basic urban infrastructure in 474 cities in 18 States and Union Territories with an investment of Rs.19,170cr under Atal Mission for Urban Rejuvenation and Transformation (AMRUT) for 2015-16. About 90% of this expenditure will be on improving water supply and sewerage infrastructure followed by storm water drains, non-motorised urban transport and provision of green spaces and parks.Central assistance for this project outlay is over Rs.9,000 cr.

A total of 497 cities are identified under Atal Mission. City level plans of only 23 mission cities in Delhi, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa and North-Eastern states are still to be approved.

An inter-ministerial Apex Committee chaired by Shri Madhusudhan Prasad, Secretary(Urban Development) today approved AMRUT Annual Action Plans for Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka for 2015-16. Uttar Pradesh has 61 Atal Mission cities while Karnataka has 27. This was the fifth meeting of the Committee.

During the discussion on State Plans today, the Apex Committee noted that even as water supply in urban areas of Uttar Pradesh was high, Non-Revenue Water (water supplied without collection of user charges) was also very high exceeding the norm of 20% for urban areas in case of all mission cities. Shri Madhusudhan Prasad asked the state government to focus on reducing NRW to national norm.

The Committee also noted that in case of Karnataka, the 27 urban local bodies included in Atal Mission were required to contribute 30% to 47% of project costs and asked the State Government to increase the share of State Government in project costs to reduce the burden on municipal bodies.

The Apex Committee approved a project outlay of Rs.4,646cr for UP under Atal Mission for 2015-16. Out of this, Rs.1,519cr is for water supply infrastructure, Rs.1,698 cr for expanding sewerage network services and Rs.70 cr for providing green spaces and parks in mission cities.

In UP, coverage of water taps is to the extent of 54% of urban households while water supply is at 161 litres per capita per day which is much higher than the norm of 135 lpcd prescribed for urban areas in the country.

As per the approval, investments to be made in some major cities include : Ghaziabad-Rs.352 cr, Lucknow-Rs.305 cr, Jhansi-Rs.223 cr, Kanpur-Rs.200 cr, Allahabad-Rs.190 cr, Varanasi-Rs.180 cr, Modinagar-Rs.180 cr, Mirzapur-Rs.140 cr, Meerut-Rs.125 cr, Moradabad-Rs.109 cr, Bulanddhahar-Rs.107 cr, Ghazipur-Rs.98 cr, Shahranpur-Rs.80 cr and Raibareilly-Rs.65 cr.

For Karnataka, the Apex Committee approved a project expenditure of Rs.1,258cr under AMRUT Plan for 2015-16. Of this, Rs.552cr will be spent on augmenting water supply in mission cities, 613 on sewerage projects, construction of storm water drains-Rs.49 cr, provision of green spaces and parks-28 cr and urban transport-Rs.18 cr.

In Karnataka, coverage of households with water taps ranged from a low of 18% in Chickmagaluru to 87% in Mandya. Water supply is reported to be in the range of 35 litres per capita per day in Robertsonpet to 106 lpcd in Ranebennur. In the capital city of Bengaluru coverage of water taps is 72% and water supply is at 94 lpcd. None of the 27 mission cities in the state have water supply at the norm of 135 lpcd prescribed for urban areas in the country.

Under AMRUT Plans for 2015-16, investments to be made in the mission cities in water supply, sewerage, storm water drains and urban transport projects are : Bengaluru-Rs.173 cr, Raichur-Rs.77 cr, Hubli-Dharwad-Rs.75 cr, Bellary-Rs.72 cr, Gulbarga-Rs.66 cr, Belgavi-Rs.60 cr, Bijapur-Rs.60 cr, Tumakuru-Rs.53 cr, Bhadravati-Rs.51 cr, Mysore-Rs.50 cr, Davanagere-Rs.50 cr, Shivamogga-Rs.48 cr, Gadag-Betagiri-Rs.45 cr, Bidar-Rs.42 cr, Hospeta-Rs.38 cr,Chitradurga-Rs.34 cr, Hassan-Rs.32 cr, Bagalkot-Rs.31 cr, Ranebennur-Rs.25 cr, Chikkamagaluru-Rs.24 cr, Kolar-Rs.18 cr, Gangavati-Rs.16 cr, Robertsonpet-Rs.14 cr, Badami-Rs.12.00 cr, Mangalur-Rs.3.25 cr.

Under AMRUT, central assistance is provided to the extent of 50% of project cost in case of cities with population of less than 10 lakhs each and up to one third in case of cities with population of above 10 lakhs each.