Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change. 08-August, 2013 16:41 IST
Plan to Deal with Climate Change

Government has released the National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC) on June 30, 2008. NAPCC comprises, inter alia, of eight National Missions in specific areas of Solar Energy, Enhanced Energy Efficiency, Sustainable Habitat, Water, Sustaining the Himalayan Eco-system, Green India, Sustainable Agriculture and Strategic knowledge for Climate Change. This was stated by Shrimati Jayanthi Natarajan Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Environment and Forests, in a written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha today.

The Minister further stated that as a follow-up to the announcement made by Prime Minsiter’s in the State Environment Ministers’ Meeting held in August, 2009, States have been advised to prepare the State Action Plan on Climate Change (SAPCC) in-line with the objectives of the NAPCC.

22 states namely, Andaman and Nicobar, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Kerala, Karnataka, Lakshadweep, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odhisa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Uttrakhand, Himachal Pradesh and West Bengal have prepared the SAPCC. Jharkhand State is yet to submit the SAPCC report to the Ministry of Environment and Forests, the Minister added.

RM/RS- USQ477 - RS
(Release ID :97910)