Prime Minister's Office26-August, 2004 20:29 IST
V.L. Chopra sworn in as Planning Commission Member
Prof. V.L.Chopra has been sworn-in as a Member of the Planning Commission. The oath of office and secrecy was administered by the Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh, at a simple function at the Race Course Road office of the Prime Minister.

The Deputy Chairman, Shri Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Members and senior officers of the Planning Commission participated in the ceremony. The Deputy Chairman and six Members of the Planning Commission were sworn in on July 17, 2004.

Born on August 9, 1936, Prof. Virendra Lal Chopra obtained his Associateship of Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI) in 1957 and Ph.D. from the University of Edinburgh in 1987. Prof. V.L. Chopra has served IARI for more than four decades in various capacities. As an FAO's Consultant to the Govt. of Vietnam, he helped in establishing the Institute of Agricultural Genetics in Vietnam. In 1992 Prof. Chopra took over as Director General of Indian Council of Agricultural Research and Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education. In recognition of his research contributions Prof. Chopra was awarded the National Professorship, Dr. B.P. Pal Chair of ICAR in 1994. He is presently Chancellor of Central Agricultural University, Imphal. He is a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, the Third World Academy of Science, European Academy of Science, Arts and Humanities and President of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences. Prof. V.L. Chopra is recipient of a number of national and international awards. He was awarded the Padma Bhushan in 1985. He is currently Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet.
(Release ID :3537)