Ministry of Human Resource Development27-July, 2004 14:12 IST
National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement announced
The National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement for the year 2003 have been announced by the Government. 36 children have been selected for this award. The names of award winning children were finalised by the National Selection Committee under the chairmanship of Smt. Kanti Singh, Minister of State for Human Resource Development. Children between the age of 4 to 15 years who have shown an exceptional achievement in any field including academics, arts, culture and sports etc. are considered for this award. Out of 36 award winning children, one gold medal and 35 silver medals will be given for the year 2003.

Master Sachin Dattatraya Vekoli of Maharashtra has been selected for Gold Medal. He has shown his exceptional achievement in the field of computer.

The other 35 children selected for silver medals are: Miss Nadia Rehman from Andaman and Nicobar for Academics and Essay writing; Miss Pallabi Parasar from Assam (Sports-Table Tennis);Miss Jayajyoti Baruah from Assam (Sports-Boxing); Master S. Divya Tej from Andhra Pradesh (Academic & Computer); Miss Thati Prathyusha from Andhra Pradesh (Sports – Martial arts); Master Kishan Kumar Krishnan from Bihar (Sports-Martial arts); Master Kumar Satyam from Bihar (Chess); Master Aniket Anand from Bihar (Arts & curricular activities); Master Ajeetesh Sandhu from Chandigarh (Golf); Miss Tanvi Shukla from Chatthisgarh (Drawing & painting); Master Saatvik Agarwal from Delhi (Space science, computer science & general science); Master Bharadwaj Mohan Iyer from Goa (Culture & Academic); Master Ambrish Kumar Pithadiya from Gujarat (Mountaineering); Master Niral Joshi from Gujarat (Education, art & culture/Sports and Adventure); Miss Neha Bansal from Haryana (Sports-Table Tennis); Master Arna Kamal from Jammu & Kashmir (Sports-Swimming); Master Mir Daniyal Masoom from Jammu & Kashmir (Roller Skating); Miss Arya A.R from Kerala (Painting); Master Shiva Prasad K. Achar from Karnataka (Drawing & Painting); Master Basavaraj Shankar Umarani from Karnataka (Academic & memory power); Master Sukham Priyananda Singh from Manipur (Sports-Taek-won-do/Karate); Miss W. Nonganbi Devi from Manipur (sports); Miss Wahengban Nganthoi Devi from Manipur (sports); Master Leopold Arambam from Manipur (Sports & Art); Miss Sonal Sisodia from Madhya Pradesh (Swimming); Master Mohd. Azharuddin Khilji from Madhya Pradesh (Atheletic); Master Sheel Raikar from Maharashtra (Academic); Miss Selvi M. Dhesh from Pondicherry (Academic/Yoga and other co-curricular activities); Miss Jyoti Maheshwari from Rajasthan (Acedemic, art-dance & drama, painting); Miss Kreeti Saxena from Rajasthan (Academic); Miss Tania Bhattacharya from Tripura (Painting, swimming, sports and dance); Miss Aarthi Mangala JM from Tamil Nadu (Magic & music); Miss D. Atshaya from Tamil Nadu (Recitation); Miss Shivani Gusain from Uttaranchal (Paragliding) and Miss Sohini Guha Roy from West Bengal (Music).

The gold medal award consists of a cash prize of Rs. 20,000/- a citation and certificate including a gold medal, and the silver medal award includes a cash prize of Rs. 10,000/-, a citation and certificate and a silver medal for each awardee.

The National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement was instituted in 1996 to give recognition to the children with exceptional abilities in any field including arts, culture and sports etc.
(Release ID :2800)