Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Human Resource Development
30-November-2012 18:13 IST
Hindi Department in Central Universities

There are 40 Central Universities under the purview of Ministry of Human Resource Development.

The names of Central Universities not having a Department of Hindi is as follows: Jawaharlal Nehru University, Nagaland University, Sikkim University, Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Central University of Jammu, Central University of Kashmir, Central University of Jharkhand, Central University of Orissa, Central University of Tamil Nadu, Central University of Punjab.

There are 27 Central Universities not having a Department of Sanskrit.

Central Universities are autonomous bodies established under Acts of Parliament and are governed by their Acts and Statutes and Ordinances made there under. Further, Central Universities are empowered to establish Departments with the recommendation of their statutory bodies and approval of University Grants Commission (UGC) and the Visitor. UGC has instructed all the universities including Central Universities located in non-Hindi speaking areas to establish Hindi Departments.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Dr. Shashi Tharoor in Rajya Sabha today.