Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
28-August-2012 16:12 IST
PMSSY Projects in Maharashtra


          Under Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY), Government of India is setting up 8 AIIMS-like institutions and upgrading 19 existing Government medical colleges with the objective of correcting regional imbalances in the availability of affordable/reliable tertiary healthcare services and also augmenting facilities for quality medical education in the country.  The details are given below.



Ist Phase

1.    Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh)

2.    Bhubaneswar (Orissa)

3.    Jodhpur (Rajasthan)

4.    Patna (Bihar)

5.    Raipur (Chattisgarh)

6.    Rishikesh (Uttarakhand)


2nd phase

            1.   Uttar Pradesh

            2.   West Bengal.


Ist phase

1.        Government Medical College, Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala)

2.        Govt. Medical College, Bangalore (Karnataka)

3.        Govt. Mohan Kumaramangalam Medical College, Salem (Tamil Nadu)

4.        Nizam Institute of Medical Sciences, Hyerabad (Andhra Pradesh)

5.        Sri Venkateswara Instt. Of Medical Sciences, Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh)

6.        Institute of Medical Sciences, BHU, Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)

7.        Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow (UP)

8.        Government Medical College, Jammu (J&K)

9.        Government Medical College, Srinagar (J&K)

10.      Rajendra Institute of Medical Sciences, Ranchi (Jharkhand)

11.      Kolkata Medical College, Kolkata (West Bengal)

12.      B.J. Medical College, Ahmedabad (Gujarat)

13.      Grants Medical College & Sir J.J. Group of Hospitals, Mumbai (Maharashtra)


2nd  Phase                                                                            

1.      Government Medical College, Amritsar, Punjab;

2.      Rajendra Prasad Government Medical College, Tanda, Hmachal Pradesh;

3.      Government Medical College, Madurai, Tamil Nadu;

4.      Government Medical College, Nagpur, Maharashtra;

5.      Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College of AMU, Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh

6.      Pandit B.D. Sharma Postgraduate Institute of Med. Sciences, Rohtak   (Haryana)


            The Government is upgrading Grants Medical College, Mumbai in the first phase of PMSSY at a central contribution of Rs.100 Crore and Government Medical College, Nagpur in the second phase of PMSSY at a central contribution of Rs.125 Crore.

The Government launched the Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana (RSBY) on 1.10.2007 to provide smart card based cashless health insurance cover of Rs.30,000/- per annum on family floater basis to BPL family (a unit of five) in the unorganized sector.   No such incidence of refusal by Government hospitals in entertaining RSBY patients have come to the notice of the Government. 

The above information was given by the Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad  in a written reply  in the Rajya  Sabha today.