Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Labour & Employment
27-August-2012 17:14 IST
Welfare Boards
As per information available, the States of Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Assam, Orissa, Gujarat, Kerala, Tripura, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh and Andaman & Nicobar Admn. have constituted the State Social Security Boards under the Unorganised Workers’ Social Security Act, 2008.

State of Tamilnadu has informed that State is already implementing various welfare schemes for unorganized workers under the State Acts, Rules and schemes. Hence, there is no necessity to make Rules and constitute State Social Security Board under the Central Act i.e. Unorganised Workers Social Security Act, 2008.

The Union Labour & Employment Minister Shri Mallikarjun Kharge gave this information in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.