Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
24-August-2012 15:11 IST
41 Agriculture Information Centers Established in Agriculture Universities and ICAR Institutions
The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) has established 44 Agricultural Technology Information Centres (ATICs) in 28 Agricultural Universities and 16 ICAR Institutes in the country. The ICAR has also created a network of 630 Krishi Vigyan Kendra (KVK) in the country to facilitate farmers’ access to agricultural technology generated by National Agricultural Research System.

The Department of Agriculture & Cooperation is implementing Kisan Call Centre (KCC) programme under which Agriculture related information is provided to the farmers in 22 regional languages through a countrywide common toll free number 1800-180-1551 covering all the States and Union Territory of India. The KCCs established at 13 locations in the country operate from 6.00AM to 10.00 PM on all 365 days in a year. The Kisan Call Centre located in Kanpur district of Uttar Pradesh caters to all the farmers of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

This information was given by Shri Harish Rawat, Minister of State for Agriculture and Food Processing Industries in written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha today.

MP:CP: university (24.8.2012)