Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Election Commission
05-July-2012 13:12 IST
Press Note

            After the last date of withdrawal of candidature on the 4th of July, 2012, the following two are the contesting candidates for the Presidential Election, 2012:-


S.No.                                       Name                                                               Address


1.                                 Shri Purno Agitok Sangma                                  H.No. 35, Walbakgre, Tura, West            

                                                                                                               Garo Hills, Meghalaya

2.                                 Shri Pranab Mukherjee                                            H.No.60/2/97,Kabi Bharati  Sarani

                                                                                                                  (Lake Road), Kolkata (West Bengal)


2.         The Polling for the Presidential Election, 2012 will take place on Thursday, the 19th of July, 2012 in Room No. 63, Parliament House, New Delhi and in the State Capitals. The polling will commence at 10.00 A.M. and close at 5.00 P.M. on that day.


3.         The Electoral College for election to the Office of the President of India consists of the elected Members of both Houses of Parliament and the elected Members of the Legislative Assemblies of all State including the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry. The Members of Parliament normally exercise their vote in Parliament House, New Delhi and Members of State Legislative Assemblies including the Members of Legislative Assemblies of the NCT of Delhi and the Union territory of Puducherry in their respective State Capitals at the places notified by the Election Commission of India in this behalf.     However, a Member of Parliament may vote in a State Capital/Union Territory Capital if he/she obtained the prior permission of the Election Commission of India. Similarly, a Member of any State Legislative Assembly who has obtained the prior permission of the Election Commission, may, exercise his/her vote in Room No. 63, Parliament House, New Delhi.


4.         The polling arrangements in Parliament House are being made by Dr. V.K. Agnihotri, the Returning Officer for the Presidential Election, 2012, and Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha.


Office of the Returning officer for Presidential Election 2012 and Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha

New Delhi, 05 July, 2012