Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Home Affairs
20-December-2011 17:02 IST
State Human Rights Commissions Constituted by 20 States

20 States have constituted State Human Rights Commissions. These are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

8 States have not constituted the State Human Rights Commissions. These are Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Haryana, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Uttarakhand.

The responsibility to ensure adequate manpower and infrastructure for each SHRC lies primarily with the respective State Government. The Govt. of India and National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) are keen that each State sets up a State Human Rights Commission. The Govt. and NHRC have been requesting to all those States, which have not yet constituted their State Commission, to do so at the earliest.

This was stated by Shri Jitendra Singh, Minister of State in Ministry of Home Affairs in written reply in the Lok Sabha today.


IJ/KD/Human Rights