Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Home Affairs
14-December-2011 17:17 IST
131 New Police Stations Under Phase-II of Coastal Security Scheme

Construction of 131 Costal Police Station, including upgradation of exiting 20 Police Stations in Andaman & Nicobar Islands, have been approved under Coastal Security Scheme Phase-II. State-wise, they are Gujarat – 12, Maharastra – 7, Goa – 4, Karnataka – 4, Kerala – 10 , Tamil Nadu – 30, Andhra Pradesh – 15, Odisha – 13, West Bengal – 8, Puducherry – 3, Daman – 2 & Lakshadweep – 3. Out of 131, sites for 109 coastal police stations have been selected by coastal States/UTs. Land acquisition process has been started in 74 Coastal Police Stations. Rs. 15.76 crore has been released to coastal States/UTs for start up of the construction activities under Coastal Security Scheme Phase-II.

An amount of Rs. 25 lakhs for upgradation of existing 20 Police Stations in Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Rs. 49.19 lakhs for starting construction of 3 new Police Stations in Lakshadweep has been released.

All Coastal State/UTs have been requested by the Government to expedite the construction of these Police Stations.

This was stated by Shri Mullappally Ramachandran, Minister of State of Home Affairs in written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.

RS/PT/Coastal Security