Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Road Transport & Highways
28-November-2011 18:47 IST
Toll Tax Policy on National Highways

Policy on collection of user fee is based on the provisions of  National Highways Act, 1956 (48 of 1956) and National Highways Fee (Determination of Rates and Collection) Rules, 2008 as amended. Currently there are 209 fee plazas in NHs with NHAI. A Representation from AIMTC has been received.  As per the present policy in case of  6 laning projects where 4 lane facilities is already available, tolling is started immediately even before completion of highways.

           As per the National Highways Fee (Determination of Rates and Collection) Rules, 2008, the fee rates is to be revised every year with effect from 1st April. Policy decisions on specific toll issues are being taken from time to time depending upon requirements.  Presently there is no proposal for a separate regulatory authority.

                The dignitaries and vehicles exempted as per rule 11 of the National Highways Fee (Determination of Rates and Collection) Rules, 2008 as amended is enclosed as  given below:-


11.    Exemption from payment of fee. -  (1) No fee shall be levied and collected from a mechanical Vehicle

(a)          transporting and accompanying–

(i)                  the President of India;

(ii)                the Vice-President of India;

(iii)               the Prime-Minister of India;

(iv)              the Governor of a State;

(v)                the Chief Justice of India;

(vi)              the Speaker of the House of People;

(vii)             the Cabinet Minister of the Union

(viii)           the Chief Minister of a State;

(ix)              the Judge of the Supreme Court;

(x)                the Minister of State of the Union;

(xi)              the Lieutenant Governor of a Union territory;

(xii)     the Chief of Staff holding the rank of full General or equivalent rank;

(xiii)    the Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State;

(xiv)    the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of a State;

(xv)     the Chief Justice of  a High Court;

(xvi)    the Judge of a High Court;

(xvii)   the Member of Parliament;

(xviii)        the  Army Commander or Vice-Chief of Army Staff and equivalent in

           other services;

(xix)    the Chief Secretary to a State Government within concerned State;

(xx)     the Secretary to  the  Government of India;

(xxi)    the Secretary, Council of States;

(xxii)   the Secretary, House of People;

(xxiii)  the Foreign dignitary on State visit;

(xxiv) The Member of Legislative Assembly of  a State and the Member of Legislative Council of  a State within their respective State, if he or she produces his or her identity card issued by the concerned Legislature of the State;

(xxv)   the awardee of Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Vir Chakra and Shaurya Chakra, if such awardee produces his or her photo identity card duly authenticated by the appropriate or competent authority for such award;

(b)       used for official purposes by -

(i)                  the Ministry of Defence including those which are eligible for exemption in accordance with the provisions of the Indian Toll (Army and Air Force) Act, 1901 and rules made thereunder, as extended to Navy also;

(ii)                the Central and State armed forces in uniform including para military forces and police;

(iii)               an executive Magistrate;

(iv)              the fire-fighting Department or organisation;

(v)                the National Highways Authority of India or any other Government organisation using such vehicle for inspection, survey, construction or operation of national highways and maintenance thereof;

(c)                used as ambulance; and

(d)               used as  funeral van”.


This information was given by the Minister of State of Road Transport and Highways, Shri Jitin Prasada   in  a written reply in Lok Sabha today




Sanjay Kumar/kd