Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Information & Broadcasting
08-September-2011 13:2 IST
National Film Awards Function to be Held Tomorrow President of India to Give Away the Awards
Shri K. Balachander, Veteran Filmmaker to be Conferred Dada Saheb Phalke Award for the Year 2010
The 58TH National Film Awards function will be held tomorrow at Vigyan Bhawan


The 58TH National Film Awards function will be held tomorrow at Vigyan Bhawan. The awards will be given away by the Hon’ble President of India. Minister of Information & Broadcasting, Smt. Ambika Soni will also be present on the occasion.

The highlights of the 58th National Film Awards are as follows:


·        Four child artists have won the National Award this time for various films:


1.       Harsh Mayar for the film “I am Kalam” – resides in Dakshinpuri, Delhi.

2.       Shantanu Ranganekar for the film “Champions”.  

3.       Machindra Gadekar for the film “Champions” - Lives in Dharavi, Mumbai.

4.       Vivek Chabukswar for the film “Baboo Band Baaja”.


·        For the category of the Best Actor & Actress, the profile of the winners is as under:


1.       K Dhanush – First time National Award Winner for the film ‘Aadukalam’ (Tamil).  The actor who is also Rajnikant’s son-in-law would be given a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50,000/- cash.

2.       Salim Kumar – for the film ‘Adaminte Makan Abu’ (Malayalam) in which he has played a protagonist in serious role for the first time. He has been awarded the a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50000/- cash.

3.       Mitalee Jagtap Varadkar - for the film ‘Baboo Band Baaja’ (Marathi). She has been awarded a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50000/- (sharing).

4.       Saranya Ponvannan - for the film ‘Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru’ (Tamil). She has been awarded a Rajat Kamal and Rs.50000/- (sharing).


·        For the Category of Best Feature Film, ‘Adaminte Makan Abu’ (Malayalam) film Produced by Shri Salim Ahamad and Ashraf Bedi, have been given the Swarn Kamal and Rs.2,50,000/- each.


·        Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director has been given to ‘Baboo Band Baaja’ (Marathi), Directed by Rajesh Pinjani, Produced by Neeta Jadhav, who have been given Swarn Kamal and Rs.1,25,000/- each.


·        The award for Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment has been given to ‘Dabangg’ (Hindi), produced by Arbaaz Khan, Malaika Arora Khan and Dhilin Mehta, Directed by Abhinav Singh Kashyap.


·        The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration has been given to ‘Moner’. The Film is an Indo-Bangladesh collaboration venture. One of the Producers Mr. Habibur Rehman, is from Bangladesh.


·        The Award for the Best Hindi Film has been given to ‘Do Dooni ChaarProduced by Arindam Chaudhuri and Directd by Habib Faisal.




·        The film ‘Aadukalam’ has  won 6 Awards in various categories:

Best Director to Vetri Maaran

Best Actor to K.Dhanush

Best Screenplay (Original) to Vetri Maaran

Best Editing to T.E Kishore

Best Choreography to V.Dinesh Kumar

Special Mention to V.I.S Jayapalan, who is a Sri Lankan actor


·        The film ‘Adaminte Makan Abu’ has  won 4 Awards:

Best Feature Film

Best Actor to Salim Kumar

Best Cinematography to Madhu Ambat

Best Music direction to Issac Thomas Kottukapally


·        The award for the Best Book on Cinema has been given to Vijaya Mulay at the age of 90 years.


·        The film ‘Ishqiya’ has won 4 Awards:

Best Audiography – Location Sound Recordist to Kaamod Kharade

Best Audiography – Re-recordist of the final mixed track to Debajit Changmai

Best Music Direction – Music Director to Vishal Bhardwaj

Best Female Playback Singer – to Rekha Bhardwaj.  


·        The Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2010 will be conferred to Shri K.  Balachander, the veteran film maker.  The award is conferred by the Government of India for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian Cinema.  The award consists of a Swarn Kamal, a cash prize of Rs.10 lakhs and a shawl. The award is given on the recommendations of a committee of eminent persons.