Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Tourism
11-March-2011 15:14 IST
Promotion of Tourism
Ministry of Tourism makes efforts to improve the quality of service to the tourists. At present Ministry of Tourism is not offering any incentive to the tourists. However, in order to promote tourism, Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVOA) scheme was introduced by the Government of India for the nationals of five countries, namely, Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand with effect from 01.01.2010. In the year 2011, this scheme has been extended by the Ministry of Home Affairs for the nationals of Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Philippines, Myanmar and Indonesia.

Extension of TVOA scheme to more countries has been taken up with the Ministry of Home Affairs.

This information was given by Shri Subodh Kant Sahai, Minister for Tourism in a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha today.