Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Civil Aviation
09-March-2011 18:10 IST
13 Non Operational Airports of AAI to be Operationalised
M/s RITES Ltd. was appointed to carry out the feasibility study for 33 idle (Non-operational) small airports of Airports Authority of India (AAI) for development/operationalization. 13 of these small airports of AAI were recommended for developement/operationalization. The names of the airports are: Akola, Solapur (Maharashtra), Vellore (Tamil Nadu), Mysore(Karnataka), Warangal, Cuddupah (Andhra Pradesh), Chakulia(Jharkhand), Malda (West Bengal), Jharsuguda (Orissa), Tezu, Passighat (Arunchal Pradesh), Rupsi (Assam) and Kamalpur (Tripura).

Mysore Airport has already been operationalized for ATR-72 type of aircrafts in May, 2010. Work for operationalization of Cuddapah Airport for ATR-72 and Tezu Airport is scheduled for completion by September, 2011 and December, 2012 respectively.

For development of Pasighat Airport, AAI has already granted working permission to Ministry of Defence by Indian Air Force.

AAI has already projected additional land requirement as per master plan for development of Warangal, Malda, Jharsuguda, Kamalpur and Vellore Airports, to the respective State Governments.

The above information was given by the Minister for Civil Aviation Shri Vayalar Ravi in reply to a question in the Lok Sabha today.