Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
25-February-2011 16:5 IST
1000 Km Train Routes to be Electrified in 2011-12

Presenting the Railway Budget for 2011-12 in the Lok Sabha today, the Minister of Railways Mamata Banerjee announced that 1000 km of three sections will be electrified during the ensuing financial year.  The sections on which electrification work will be taken up are as follows:


  1. Vizianagaram-Rayagada-Titlagarh-Raipur
  2. Rosa-Sitapur-Burhwal
  3. Alwar-Rewari


Besides this, feasibility study for the electrification of the following sections will be undertaken:


        i.            Ahmedabad-Palanpur-Phulera-Ringus-Rewari-Delhi including Kandla/Mundra Port-Gandhidham-Bhildi-Palanpur and

      ii.            Amla-Chindwara-Kalumna


The Minister also informed that Railways would exceed the original XI Plan target of 3500 route-km of electrification.