Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.
29-December-2010 14:25 IST
Committee for Forest and Wildlife Eco-Tourism
A 7-member Committee constituted under the Chairmanship of Shir Sujit Banerjee, Secretary (Retd.), M/o Tourism, to finalise the guidelines for forest and wildlife eco-tourism. It will firm up the guidelines for forest and wildlife eco-tourism in the context of advisories issued by the National Tiger Conservation Authority, the Wildlife (Protection) Act and the Forest (Conservation) Act. It will also see the studies conducted by the Ministry of Tourism on lodges and resorts around the tiger reserves. The committee will make an appraisal of ecological issues, tourist visitation and suggest measures for carrying capacity of reserves and give recommendation for regulating tourism in ecologically sensitive non-forest areas in and around tiger reserves. The Committee started working from yesterday and will submit its final report within 45 days.

Other members of the committee are Dr.Divyabhanusinh Chavda, Dr. A.J.T. Johnsingh, r and Shri Bittu Sahgal, all three from National Board of Wild Life (NBWL), Shri R.M. Ray, Retd. Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (PCCF), Karnataka and Dr Prabhakar Dubey, Director, M/o Tourism. Dr. Rajesh Gopal, Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, (APCCF) & Member Secretary, National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) will be Member Convener of this committee.