Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
26-November-2010 17:10 IST
Primary Healthcare Facilities in Rural Areas
As per the Bulletin on Rural Health Statistics in India (RHS), 2009, there are 1,45,894 Sub-Centres (SCs), 23,391 Primary Health Centres (PHCs) and 4,510 Community Health Centres (CHCs) providing health care to rural India as on March 2009.

As per RHS 2009, the required strength of Specialist at CHCs is 18,040 and Health Worker[Female] /ANM is 1,69,285 at SCs and PHCs.

To improve the primary health care facilities in rural areas, the government launched the National Rural Health Mission (NRHM) in the year 2005 with the objective to provide accessible, accountable and affordable health care services in the rural areas across the country. Augmentation of human resources and infrastructure are thrust areas under NRHM. Financial support is provided to the States under NRHM for engaging staff on contractual basis. Under NRHM, nearly, 8,624 MBBS Doctors, 2,460 Specialists, 7,692 AYUSH Doctors, 26,793 Staff Nurses, 46,660 ANMs and 3,143 AYUSH Paramedics have been engaged by States on contractual basis. Multi-skilling of doctors to overcome the shortage of specialists, provision of incentives to serve in rural areas, improved accommodation arrangements, measures to set up more medical colleges, GNM Schools, ANM Schools to produce more doctors and paramedics are also measure taken to bridge the gap in human resources.

9,144 new Health Sub Centre buildings, up-gradation of 8,997 Sub Centre buildings, 1,009 new PHC buildings, up-gradation of 2,081 PHC buildings, 435 new CHC buildings and up-gradation of 1,255 CHC buildings, 57 new District Hospitals and up-gradation of 387 District Hospitals have been taken up under NRHM.

This information was given by Minister of Health & Family Welfare Sh. Ghulam Nabi Azad in written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha.