Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Home Affairs
23-November-2010 17:05 IST
Centre Keen on Every State Setting up SHRC
The Government of India and National Human Rights Commission(NHRC) are keen that every State sets up a State Human Rights Commission (SHRC). The Government and NHRC have been requesting all those States which have not yet constituted their State Commission to do so at the earliest.

The following States have constituted State Human Rights Commission:-

1. Assam 2. Andhra Pradesh 3. Chhattisgarh 4. Himachal Pradesh 5. Jammu & Kashmir 6. Kerala 7. Madhya Pradesh 8. Maharashtra 9. Manipur 10. Orissa 11. Punjab 12. Rajasthan 13. Tamil Nadu 14. Uttar Pradesh 15. West Bengal 16. Karnataka 17. Bihar 18. Gujarat 19. Sikkim.

The following nine States have not constituted the State Human Rights Commissions:-

1. Arunachal Pradesh 2. Goa 3. Haryana 4. Jharkhand 5. Meghalaya 6. Mizoram 7. Nagaland 8. Tripura 9. Uttarakhand.

This was stated by the Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs, Shri Ajay Maken in written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha today.