Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Rural Development
22-November-2010 16:47 IST
Tendulkar Committee on Rural Poverty
Union Minister for Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Dr.C.P. Joshi today informed the Lok Sabha that the Expert Group under the chairmanship of Prof. Suresh D. Tendulkar constituted by the Planning Commission in 2005 to review the methodology of estimation of poverty has submitted its recommendations in December 2009. The report of the Expert Group has been accepted by the Planning Commission. State-wise details of estimate of poverty for rural areas as recommended by the Expert Group are given at Annexure-I.

The Ministry of Rural Development is implementing several schemes of Rural Development and poverty alleviation through the State Governments and Union Territory (UT) Administrations. These include Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA), Swarnjayanti Gram Swarojgar Yojana (SGSY)/ National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM) for poverty alleviation and employment generation in rural areas, Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY), Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY), Integrated Watershed Management Programme (IWMP), National Rural Drinking Water Programme (NRDWP), Total Sanitation Campaign (TSC) for providing basic amenities and area development in rural areas. Further, Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS) is a welfare scheme under National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) under which Additional Central Assistance (ACA) is provided to States/UTs. These schemes help reduce poverty level in rural part of the country.

The Minister was replying to a written question whether the Government has received the Tendulkar Committee recommendations on the rural poverty figures, the details thereof State-wise and the action taken to reduce poverty levels in the rural part of the country.