Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
18-November-2010 14:28 IST
Introduction of New Suburban Trains
The Railway Budget 2010-11 proposes to introduce 112 suburban services in Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai. In addition, six pairs ‘Ladies only’ EMU local ‘Matribhoomi’ trains have also been announced for Kolkata, Delhi, Secundrerabad and Mumbai.

Out of these, 102 suburban services and five pairs of ‘Matribhoomi’ local trains have already been introduced and the rest of the services will be done during the financial year 2010-11.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Railways, Shri K.H. Muniyappa in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.