Press Information Bureau
Government of India
President's Secretariat
25-May-2019 21:19 IST

Exercising powers vested in him under Article 75 (1) of the Constitution of India, the President, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, today appointed Shri Narendra Modi to the office of Prime Minister of India. He requested Shri Modi to: 

i.)  advise him about the names of others to be appointed members of the Union Council of Ministers; and

ii.) indicate the date and time of the swearing-in-ceremony to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan 

Shri Modi was formally intimated when he called on the President at Rashtrapati Bhavan today in his capacity as leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party, which has majority support in the House of the People following the general election to the 17th Lok Sabha. 

Earlier in the day, a delegation of the National Democratic Alliance led by Shri Amit Shah, President, BJP, and comprising Shri Prakash Singh Badal, Shri Rajnath Singh, Shri Nitish Kumar, Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, Smt Sushma Swaraj, Shri Uddhav Thakeray, Shri Nitin Gadkari, Shri K. Palaniswami, Shri Conrad Sangma and Shri Neiphiu Rio, called on the President at Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

A letter stating that Shri Narendra Modi has been elected leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party was handed over to the President. Letters of support from NDA constituent parties were also handed over to the President.