Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Commerce & Industry
05-April-2017 14:10 IST
Promotion of NIMZs

            Government notified the National Manufacturing Policy (NMP) on 4th November, 2011 with the objective of enhancing the share of manufacturing in GDP to 25% and creating 100 million jobs over a decade or so.  National Investment and Manufacturing Zones (NIMZs) are one of the important instruments of the Policy to achieve its objectives.  So far Government has granted ‘in-principle’ approval to the fourteen NIMZs (outside the DMIC region). These are:


i.                Nagpur in Maharashtra

ii.              Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh

iii.            Chittoor in Andhra Pradesh

iv.            Medak in Telangana

v.              Hyderabad Pharma NIMZ at Rangareddy and Mahabubnagar Districts in   Telangana.

vi.            Tumkur in Karnataka

vii.          Kolar in Karnataka

viii.        Bidar in Karnataka

ix.            Gulbarga in Karnataka

x.              Kalinganagar, Jajpur District in Odisha

xi.            Ramanathapuram District of Tamil Nadu

xii.          Ponneri Taluk, Thiruvallur District, Tamil Nadu

xiii.        Auraiya District in Uttar Pradesh and

xiv.        Jhansi District in Uttar Pradesh


Of these, the NIMZ at Prakasam in Andhra Pradesh; Medak in Telangana and Kalinganagar, Jajpur district in Odisha have been granted final approval.


            Eight Investment Regions along the Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) project have also been announced as NIMZs. The details are as under:


i.                    Ahmedabad-Dholera Investment Region, Gujarat

ii.                  Shendra-Bidkin Industrial Park city near Aurangabad, Maharashtra

iii.                Manesar-Bawal Investment Region, Haryana

iv.                Khushkhera-Bhiwadi-Neemrana Investment Region, Rajasthan

v.                  Pithampur-Dhar-Mhow Investment Region, Madhya Pradesh

vi.                Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad Investment Region, Uttar Pradesh

vii.              Dighi Port Industrial Area, Maharashtra ; and

viii.            Jodhpur-Pali-Marwar Region in Rajasthan


This information was given by the Commerce and Industry Minister Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.