Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Information & Broadcasting
28-March-2016 14:33 IST
63rd National Film Awards, 2015 announced

Bahubali awarded Best Feature Film and Bajrangi Bhaijaan declared Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment

Amitabh Bachchan to be given Best Actor award for the film Piku; Kangana Ranaut Best Actress for Tanu Weds Manu Returns
Sanjay Leela Bhansali given Best Direction Award for his Film Bajirao Mastani


The 63rd National Film Awards 2015 were announced today by the Chairpersons of the three juries on Feature Films, Non Feature Films and Best Writing on Cinema. The Feature Film Central panel was headed by Shri Ramesh Sippy, a popular director & producer in Hindi cinema. The Central panel comprised of 11 members including Chairman. The Non Feature jury was headed by Shri Vinod Ganatra and comprised of 7 members including the Chairman. The jury on Best Writing on Cinema was headed by Ms. Advaita Kala and comprised of 3 members including the Chairperson.


Prior to the announcement of the awards, the Chairpersons of the three juries and members of the jury presented their reports to Minister for Finance, Corporate Affairs and Information & Broadcasting, Shri Arun Jaitley. Minister of State for Information & Broadcasting, Col. Rajyavardhan Rathore and Secretary (I&B), Shri Sunil Arora were also present on the occasion. Shri Jaitley appreciated the efforts put in by the jury members in deciding the awards in various categories which reflected the diversity of India’s cinematic brilliance and diversity.



Some of the prominent winners in various categories for this year National Film Awards included Bahubali in the best Feature Film category and Amdavad Ma Famous in the best Non-Feature Film Category. Amitabh Bachchan was given the best actor award for the film Piku and Kangana Ranaut was given the best actress award for her movie Tanu Weds Manu Returns. Samuthirakan was given the Best Supporting Actor award for the film Visaranaai. The award for best supporting actress was given to Tanvi Azmi for her role in Bajirao Mastani. Sanjay Leela Bhansali was given the Best Direction Award for his Film Bajirao Mastani.

 Dr. Rajakumar Samagra Charithre was given the Best Book on cinema award. The best film critic award was given to Meghachandra Kongbam who interprets the world of Indian cinema for his readers in Manipuri. This year National Film Awards included a special award given to the state of Gujarat for being the most film friendly state in the Country.




Click here to see List of National Film Award Winners in Various Categories.