Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Minority Affairs
12-August-2015 18:40 IST
Minority Commission

As per information furnished by the National Commission for Minorities (NCM), the States of Andhra Pradesh, Telengana, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, NCT of Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand and West Bengal have set up State Minority Commission.

The States of Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Sikkim and UTs of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep and Puducherry have not yet set up a Minority Commission in their respective States/UTs. The NCM Act does not extend to state of Jammu&Kashmir. Tripura has passed a Bill in this regard on 26.11.2008 which awaits assent of the President.

No time frame can be given, as it is for the concerned States/UTs to set up Minority Commissions in their respective States/UTs.

In so far as the Central Government is concerned, Hindus have not been declared as a minority community under Section 2(c) of National Commission for Minorities (NCM) Act, 1992. Setting up of Minority Commissions by the State Governments is a State subject. This Information was given by Shri Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, the Minister of State in the Ministry of Minority Affairs in Lok Sabha today.