Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Tribal Affairs
13-May-2015 12:05 IST
Identification of 15 Minor Forest Produce for Minimum Support Price

There are 12 different Minor Forest Produce (MFP), identified by the Ministry for coverage under the scheme of “Mechanism for Marketing of Minor Forest Produce (MFP) through Minimum Support Price (MSP) and Development of Value Chain for MFP” which include: (i) Tendu, (ii) Bamboo, (iii) Mahuwa Seed, (iv) Sal Leaf, (v) Sal Seed, (vi) Lac, (vii) Chironjee, (viii) Wild Honey, (ix) Myrobalan, (x) Tamarind, (xi) Gums (Gum Karaya) and (xii) Karanj.

This scheme has been implemented in States having areas under Fifth Schedule of the Indian constitution i.e. Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jharkhand. Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan and Telangana.

The States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana have not deregulated trade of MFP in line with section 3(1)(c) of the Scheduled Tribes and other Traditional Forest Dwellers (Recognition of Forest Rights) Act, 2006 and put all the MFP under monopoly of the State. Hence, the scheme has not been implemented in these two States. The Ministry of Tribal Affairs has requested both the States to do away the monopoly procurement system in order to bring the identified MFP under coverage of the MSP scheme.

This information was given by Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Shri Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.