Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Home Affairs
16-December-2014 14:32 IST
National Policy on Security

All aspects of national security are deliberated upon by the National Security Council (NSC), the apex body, headed by the Prime Minister. The Ministers of Home Affairs, Defence, External Affairs and Finance are its members. The National Security Adviser is its Secretary. The three tier structure of the NSC comprises the Strategic Policy Group (SPG), the National Security Advisory Board (NSAB) and the National Security Council Secretariat. The SPG chaired by the Cabinet Secretary is the principal forum for inter-ministerial coordination and integration of the relevant inputs. The NSAB undertakes long-term analysis and provides perspectives on issues of national security.

There is no proposal to set up any other institution or National Security Administrative Service for effective security management in the country.

This was stated by the Minister of State for Home Affairs Shri Haribhai Parathibhai Chaudhary in a written reply to Shri B. Vinod Kumar in the Lok Sabha today.