Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Minority Affairs
27-November-2014 17:48 IST
Multi-Sectoral Development Programme

Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) has been revamped in 2013-14 for its implementation during remaining period of 12th Five Year Plan and Minority Concentration Blocks/Towns/Cluster of Villages have been made unit of planning for implementation.

A total of 710 Minority Concentration Blocks and 66 Minority Concentration Towns have been selected in backward districts. A cluster of villages having 50% population of Minorities is eligible under MsDP.

Block with a minimum of 25% minority population falling in the backward districts have been selected. However, in case of 6 States (Lakshadweep, Punjab, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Jammu & Kashmir), where a minority community is in majority, a lower cut-off of 15% of minority population, other than that of the minority community in majority in that State/UT, have been adopted. Contiguous minority concentration villages outside minority concentration blocks (having at least 50% minority population) and falling in backward districts are eligible for selection under this programme. In case of hilly areas of North Eastern States, a village cluster with 25% minority population is eligible under this programme.

Presently, 710 Minority Concentration Blocks and 66 Minority Concentration Towns falling in 196 districts have been selected under MsDP. However, revision of Minority Concentration Blocks and Minority Concentration Towns is contingent upon the availability of data of 2011 Census.

This was stated by Minister of State for Minority Affairs Shri Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi in Lok Sabha today.