Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Department of Atomic Energy
27-November-2014 17:36 IST
New Atomic Power Plants


                               The XII Five Year Plan proposals envisage start of work of nineteen new nuclear power reactors with a total capacity of 17400 MW.  The details are as under:





Capacity (MW)

Indigenous Reactors

Gorakhpur Haryana Anu Vidyut Pariyojana (GHAVP 1&2)

Gorakhpur, Haryana

2 x 700

Chutka Madhya Pradesh Atomic Power Project (CMPAPP 1&2)

Chutka, Madhya Pradesh

2 x 700

Mahi Banswara, 1&2

Mahi Banswara, Rajasthan

2 x 700

Kaiga 5 &6

Kaiga, Karnataka

2 x 700

Fast Breeder Reactor (FBR 1&2)

Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu

2 x 500

Advanced Heavy Water Reactor (AHWR)

Location to be decided


Reactors with Foreign Cooperation

Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project (KKNPP 3&4)

Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu

2 x 1000

Jaitapur Nuclear Power Project (JNPP 1&2)

Jaitapur, Maharashtra

2 x 1650

Kovvada, 1&2

Kovvada, Andhra Pradesh

2 x 1500

Chhaya Mithi Virdi, 1&2

Chhaya Mithi Virdi, Gujarat

2 x 1100




               In respect of the reactors to be set up in the future with international cooperation, necessary provisions will be made in the commercial contracts to ensure fuel supply for the entire lifetime of the reactors.  In respect of indigenous reactors, the fuel supply will be ensured from indigenous and imported sources (for reactors to be placed under International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Safeguards).  Decisions on use of indigenous/ imported fuel (after placing them under IAEA Safeguards) in respect of new indigenous reactors will be taken by the government at an appropriate time.


                         This information was given by the Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, PG & Pensions and in the Prime Minister’s Office Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.