Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Human Resource Development
06-August-2014 18:13 IST
Protection and Preservation of Endangered Languages of India



The Government of India has initiated a Scheme known as “Protection and Preservation of Endangered Languages of India”.  Under this Scheme, the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), Mysore works on protection, preservation and documentation of all the mother tongues/languages of India spoken by less than 10,000 speakers keeping in mind the degree of endangerment and reduction in the domains of usage.


         According to the criteria adopted by the UNESCO, a language becomes extinct when nobody speaks or remembers the language.  The UNESCO has categorized languages on basis of endangerment as follows:-


(i) Vulnerable

(ii)           Definitely Endangered

(iii)         Severely Endangered

(iv)         Critically Endangered


The Critically Endangered Languages as per UNESCO Report are:

LANGUAGE/DIALECT                               SPOKEN MAINLY IN

1.      Aimol                                                   Manipur

2.      Aka                                                      Manipur

3.      Baghati                                     Himachal Pradesh

4.      Bangani                                                Uttarakhand

5.      Bellari                                                   Karnataka

6.      Birhor                                                   Jharkhand

7.      Gadaba                                                Andhra Pradesh

8.      Great Andamanese                               Andaman & Nicobar

9.      Handuri                                                Himachal Pradesh

10.  Jarawa                                                 Andaman & Nicobar

11.  Koireng                                                Manipur

12.  Koraga                                                 Karnataka

13.  Kota                                                    Tamil Nadu

14.  Kuruba                                                 Karnataka

15.  Lamgang                                              Manipur

16.  Lamongse                                             Andaman & Nicobar

17.  Langrong                                              Manipur

18.  Luro                                                     Andaman & Nicobar

19.  Manda                                                 Odisha

20.  Mra                                                      Arunachal Pradesh

21.  Muot                                                    Andaman & Nicobar

22.  Na                                                       Arunachal Pradesh

23.  Naiki                                                    Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh

24.  Nihali                                                   Maharashtra

25.  Onge                                                    Andaman & Nicobar

26.  Pangvali                                                Himachal Pradesh

27.  Parji                                                     Odisha

28.  Pengo                                                   Odisha

29.  Pu                                                        Andaman & Nicobar

30.  Purum                                                  Manipur

31.  Ruga                                                    Meghalaya

32.  Sanenyo                                               Andaman & Nicobar

33.  Sentilese                                               Andaman & Nicobar

34.  Shompen                                              Andaman & Nicobar

35.  Sirmaudi                                               Himachal Pradesh

36.  Tai Nora                                              Assam

37.  Tai Rong                                              Assam

38.  Takahanyilang                                       Andaman & Nicobar

39.  Tangam                                                Arunachal Pradesh

40.  Tarao                                                   Manipur

41.  Toda                                                    Tamil Nadu

42.  Toto                                                     West Bengal


This information was given by the Union Human Resource Development Minister, Smt. Smriti Irani in a written reply to the Lok Sabha question.


MC/DS/SM-  languages of india