Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
21-March-2014 18:36 IST
Prizes for the Eleventh National Youth Parliament Competition, 2012-2013 for Universities and Colleges Presented

The Prizes for the 11th National Youth Parliament Competition for Universities/Colleges were distributed at a function held today in GMC Balayogi Auditorium, Parliament Library Building, New Delhi.

The Running Parliamentary Shield and Trophy for standing first in the Competition was awarded to DAV Colleges, Jalandhar, Punjab for 2nd time in a row. Besides, merit trophies were awarded to (i) University of Kanlyani, Kalyani, West Banga; (ii) Jai Prakash University, Chhapra, Bihar; (iii) Jiwaji University, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh and (iv) S. M. B Govt. College, Nathdwara, Udaipur for standing first in their respective Groups.

Shri Rajeev Shukla, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Planning presided over the function and distributed prizes to the students/ institutions for their meritorious performance in the Competition. On this occasion, the students of DAV College, Jalandhar, Punjab which stood first in the Competition, presented a short sitting of “Youth Parliament”.

The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs has been organizing Youth Parliament competitions in Universities/Colleges since 1997-98.

The Youth Parliament Scheme aims at inculcating among the younger generations the spirit of self-discipline, tolerance of diverse opinion, righteous expression of views and other virtues of a democratic way of life. Besides, the scheme also acquaints the students with the practices and procedures of parliament, techniques of discussion and debate and develops in them the quality of leadership.

Under the Scheme of National Youth Parliament Competition for Universities/ Colleges, the 11th National Youth Parliament Competition in the series was organized among 14 institutions spread all over India.

Teams of judges which included MPs/Ex-MPs/MLAs/Ex-MLAs/MLCs/Ex-MLCs along with Officers of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and academicians of repute from non-participating Institutions evaluated the performances of the Institutions.