Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Department of Atomic Energy
11-December-2013 17:53 IST
Nuclear Programme



Government proposes to continue its nuclear programme without any interruption, irrespective of decision taken by other countries such as Germany and Japan to end their dependence on nuclear energy.


The pursuance of a source of energy for electricity generation is country specific and depends on various factors such as demand, availability of various energy options etc. As far as India is concerned, the country is not energy rich and its electricity demand is huge and growing which requires all sources to be deployed optimally. Nuclear power is a clean energy option and has huge potential to provide long term energy security in a sustainable manner. The current installed nuclear power capacity of 4780 MW will reach 10,080 MW by the year 2017 on progressive completion of projects under construction. The XII Five Year Plan proposals envisage start of work on 19 new reactors with a capacity of 17400 MW. More reactors are also planned in future.


On account of higher availability of nuclear fuel from domestic as well as international sources, the nuclear power generation capacity in the country has been on a path of growth. The details are given below :



Total Nuclear electricity generation in (Million Units)

Capacity Factor

















 Atomic Minerals Directorate for exploration and Research (AMD), a constituent unit of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), has established additional uranium deposits in different parts of the country through its survey and exploration activities using state-of-art technology such as hydrostatic drilling rigs.


AMD has so far established 1,97,621 tonnes in situ U3O8 (1,67,582 tonne U) reserves as on September, 2013, out of which 22,611 tonnes U3O8  (19,174 tonnes ) has been added during the F.Y 2012-13 and 2013-14 (till September 2013). Additional Uranium reserves have been recently established at Tummalapalle and Chitrial in Andhra Pradesh; Rohil in Rajasthan, Banadungri-Singridungri, Narwapahar extension and Bangurdih in Jharkhand; and Wahkut, Umthongkut and Lostoin in Meghalaya.


Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions and Prim Minister’s Office Shri V.Narayansamy gave this information in reply to a written question in the Lok  Sabha today.