Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
24 MAR 2022 2:39PM by PIB Delhi
Biological Diversity Act, 2002

National Biodiversity Authority is a statutory body established under Section 8 of the Act for the implementation of the provisions of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002 (BD Act, 2002). The National Biodiversity Authority facilitates and regulates the activities pertaining to access of biological resources, associated knowledge, sharing of benefits arising out of the use of biological resources, publication of Internationally Recognized Certificate of Compliance (IRCC) and provide technical support to States for notifying the Biodiversity Heritage Sites.


Biodiversity Management Committees (BMCs) have been constituted by the local bodies in the States and Union Territories. The total 2,76,713 BMCs have been constituted in 28 States and 7 UTs. One of the responsibilities of the BMCs is to prepare the People’s Biodiversity Registers (PBRs), in consultation with local people. Till date, 2,66,012 PBRs have been prepared across the country.


State Biodiversity Boards (SBBs) have been constituted in 28 States and 8 UTs. The SBBs are discharging their functions as provided in the Biological Diversity Act, 2002 and State-Specific Biological Diversity Rules. In order to further strengthen the SBBs, the NBA provides necessary technical cum financial assistance to the SBBs.


This information was given by Shri Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Minister of State, Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change in Rajya Sabha today.