Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Civil Aviation
16 DEC 2021 5:12PM by PIB Delhi
Eight Greenfield airports are operationalized

Government of India has accorded 'in-principle' approval for setting up of 21 Greenfield Airports across the country namely Mopa in Goa, Navi Mumbai, Shirdi and Sindhudurg in Maharashtra, Kalaburagi, Bijapur, Hassan and Shimoga in Karnataka, Datia (Gwalior) in Madhya Pradesh, Kushinagar and Noida (Jewar) in Uttar Pradesh, Dholera and Hirasar in Gujarat, Karaikal in Puducherry, Dagadarthi, Bhogapuram and Oravakal (Kunoor) in Andhra Pradesh, Durgapur in West Bengal, Pakyong in Sikkim, Kannur in Kerala and Hollongi (Itanagar) in Arunachal Pradesh. So far, eight Greenfield airports, namely Durgapur, Shirdi, Sindhudurg, Pakyong, Kannur, Kalaburagi, Oravakal and. Kushinagar have been operationalized.

In-Principle approval has been granted to State Government of Andhra Pradesh in respect of three Greenfield airports viz. Bhogapuram in Vizianagaram District, Oravakal in Kurnool District and DagadarthiMendal in Nellore District of Andhra Pradesh. Out of these, airport at Oravakal in Kurnool District has been operationalized in March, 2021.

The responsibility of implementation of airport projects including funding of the projects rests with the concerned airport developer including Airports Authority of India (AAI) and the respective State Government (in case the State Government is the project proponent). AAI has undertaken development of airports at Hollongi (Arunachal Pradesh) and Hirasar (Gujarat) at estimated project costs of Rs. 646 Crore and Rs.1405 Crore respectively. Public Investment Board has recommended the development of Dholera (Gujarat) airport at a cost of Rs.1305 Crore (Phase I) on 3.12.2021. Estimated Project costs involved In respect of remaining ten Greenfield airports are:-

Mopa (Rs 3000 Cr.), Navi Mumbai (Rs 1.6,250 Cr.), Bijapur (Rs 150 Cr.), Hassan (Rs 592 Cr.), Shimoga (Rs 220 Cr.), Data (Rs 200 CO, Jewar (Rs 8,914 Cr.-Phase I), Karaikal (Rs 50 Cr.), Dagadarthi (Rs 293 Cr.) and Bhogapuram (Rs 2,500 Cr.).

This information was given by the Minister of State in the Ministry Of Civil Aviation (Gen. (Dr) V. K. Singh (Retd) in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.