Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Home Affairs
14 DEC 2021 2:57PM by PIB Delhi

The Ministry has seven Central Forensic Science Laboratories in the country which have dedicated facilities for electronic forensic, including computer and cyber forensics. A state-of-the-art National Cyber Forensic Laboratory (NCFL) has been established at CyPAD, Dwarka, New Delhi to provide early stage cyber forensic assistance to Investigating Officers (IOs) of State/UT Police. Further, as per available information, Cyber forensic-cum-training laboratories have been commissioned  in 28 States/Union Territories,  namely Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu, Punjab, Assam, Tripura, Puducherry, Jammu &Kashmir, Chandigarh, Rajasthan and West Bengal.

The Ministry has approved setting up a National Cyber Forensic Laboratory for Evidentiary purposes in the Central Forensic Science Laboratory, Hyderabad.

The capacity addition will strengthen the mechanism to deal with cyber crimes in a comprehensive and coordinated manner.

There is no such proposal. However, the Directorate of Forensic Science Services has issued a Working Procedures Manual to ensure quality in such laboratories.

As per available information, the Central Forensic Science Laboratories are using the available resources for early disposal of cases.  Information on State Forensic Science Laboratories is not maintained centrally.

This was stated by the Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Ajay Kumar Mishra in a written reply to question in the Lok Sabha today.