Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment
08 DEC 2021 5:25PM by PIB Delhi
Constitution of Transgender Welfare Boards/Commissions

As per the information available with this Ministry, 12 States and UTs have constituted the Transgender Welfare Boards: Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Chandigarh, UP, Bihar, West Bengal, Tripura and Mizoram.

As per section 10 (1) of the Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Rules, 2020, “The appropriate Government shall constitute a welfare board for the transgender persons for the purpose of protecting their rights and interests of, and facilitating access to schemes and welfare measures framed by the Government.” All the State Governments have been informed on 09.10.2020 about the enactment of the Act and Rules for taking necessary action as per the provisions.

This information was given by Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment Dr.Virendra Kumar in the Rajya Sabha in a written reply today.