Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Women and Child Development
08 MAR 2018 8:17PM by PIB Delhi
On International Women’s Day, the President conferred the prestigious Nari Shakti Puraskars to 30 eminent women and 9 distinguished Institutions for the year 2017

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind presented Nari Shakti Puraskars 2017 at a special ceremony held in Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi on the occasion of International Women’s Day today. The awards were conferred on 30 eminent individuals and 9 distinguished institutions in recognition of their efforts in rendering distinguished services for the cause of women, especially vulnerable and marginalized women.

Speaking on the occasion, the Minister for Women & Child Development, Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi said that the Government is working relentlessly for the empowerment of women.

Outlining the initiatives of the Ministry of Women & Child Development, the Minister said that women’s safety is one of the top most priorities of the Government and the Ministry is working to ensure the security of women in public spaces, at their work places, within their homes and even online. The Minister also added that about 200 one stop centres for single window services to women facing violence have been setup across the country, which have already assisted about one lakh women.

Speaking on the steps taken by the Government on the women empowerment, the Minister highlighted that 1.26 crore girls and 16.44 crore women have opened their bank accounts and loans have been extended to 6.28 crore women entrepreneurs. She also added that 20,000 women sarpanches are being trained so they can contribute better to their village’s development. She also highlighted that the ban on women going to Haj without a Mehram or the male companion has now been lifted. For the first time in the history of India, women have been inducted into combat roles in the armed forces, she added. 

In her address, the Minister of Women & Child Development, Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi congratulated the awardees for receiving the highest award for women in the country.

Lauding the achievements of the awardees, the Minister remarked that each one of the awardees touched the lives of innumerable people and has contributed to making our society and environment a better place to live in.

This year the winners of the Narishakti puraskar are from fields as diverse as sports, social work, science, art, agriculture, education, conservation, security, handicrafts and defence. The list of the winners :

  1. Ms. Ambica Beri
  2. Dr. Anita Bhardwaj
  3. Ms.Anuradha Krishnamoorthy and Ms.Namrata Sundaresan
  4. Dr. Bharti Kashyap
  5. Dr. C.K. Durga
  6. Ms. Chirom Indira
  7. Ms. Deepika Kundaji
  8. Ms. Gargi Gupta
  9. Ms. Gauri Maulekhi
  10. Justice Gita Mittal
  11. Ms. Jayamma Bandari
  12. Ms. Jetsun Pema
  13. Ms. K. Syamalakumari
  14. Dr. Lizymol Philipose Pamadykandathil
  15. Dr. M.S. Sunil
  16. Ms.Madhu Jain
  17. Dr. Malvika Iyer
  18. Ms. Mehvish Mushtaq
  19. Ms. Mittal Patel
  20. Ms. Purnima Barman
  21. Ms. Pushpa Girimaji
  22. Ms. Rekha Mishra
  23. Ms. Revanna Umadevi Nagraj
  24. Dr. S. Siva Sathya
  25. Ms.Sabarmatee
  26. Ms. Sheela Balaji
  27. Dr. Sindhutai Sapkal
  28. Ms. Thinlas Chorol
  29. Ms. Urmila Balawant Apte
  30. Aranya naturals
  31. AVANI organization
  32. Beti Zindabad Bakery
  33. Karuna Society for Animals and Nature
  34. Millet Network of India
  35. Navika Sagar Parikrama - INSV Tarini Team
  36. One Stop Centre, Raipur
  37. Shrujan
  38. State of Punjab
  39. Vanastree


Click here for the details of Nari Shakti Puraskar Awardees.