Ministry of Culture

Upgradation and modernisation of museums taken up by the Government on a continuous basis: Dr. Mahesh Sharma

Posted On: 27 DEC 2017 5:09PM by PIB Delhi

There are a number of museums in the country directly under the administrative control of the Ministry of Culture, namely National Museum (New Delhi), 3 wings of National Gallery of Modern Art (Delhi, Bengaluru, Mumbai), Indian Museum (Kolkata), Victoria Memorial Hall (Kolkata), Salarjung Museum (Hyderabad), 23 Science Centre under National Council of Science Museum (Kolkata) and Allahabad Museum (Allahabad). Besides, there are forty four site museums under the control of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI). These museums have a large collection of artefacts, paintings, sculptures, coins etc. Upgradation and modernization of these museums are taken up by the Government on a continuous basis to maintain them in good condition. Besides, the Government has also taken up 14 action points for museums for implementation on a continuing basis to bring about qualitative changes in museums in India keeping pace with the international developments in the field.

This information was given by Minister of State (IC) for Culture and Minister of State for Environment, Forest & Climate Change Dr. Mahesh Sharma in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.






(Release ID: 1514336) Visitor Counter : 628