Press Information Bureau
Government Of India
Ministry of Railways
(21-July, 2017 16:05 IST )

Dedicated Freight Corridors

Ministry of Railways have sanctioned implementation of Dedicated Freight Corridors (DFCs), namely, Western DFC (1504 km) and Eastern DFC (1856 km).
The commissioning of Western and Eastern DFCs (excluding few sections) is targeted in phases by 2019/2020.
Western DFC covers Dadri-Rewari-Phulera-Ajmer-Marwar- Palanpur - Ahmedabad –Vadodara - Surat- Valsad-Vasai Road and Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (JNPT), Mumbai through the States of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Gujarat and Maharashtra. Eastern DFC covers Ludhiana-Ambala-Saharanpur-Meerut-Khurja-Kanpur-Allahabad-Mughalsarai-Sonnagar through the States of Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar.
The revised Cost Estimate of the Western DFC and Eastern DFC (excluding construction cost of Sonnagar-Dankuni to be implemented through Public Private Partnership) is ` 81,459 crore( Western DFC -      ` 51,101 crore & Eastern DFC -  ` 30,358 crore).
         The funding of the project is through World Bank loan ( US $ 2.725 billion) for the Eastern DFC , and Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)  loan ( ` 38,722 crore) for the Western DFC and  the rest from Gross Budgetary Support (GBS).
This Press Release is based on the information given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Rajen Gohain in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha on 21.07.2017 (Friday).


(Release ID :168811)

Site is designed and hosted by National Informatics Centre (NIC),Information is provided and updated by Press Information Bureau "A" - Wing, Shastri Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi - 110 001 Phone 23389338