Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
11-March-2011 14:9 IST
Development of Educational Facilities on Railways
Ministry of Railways has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Ministry of Human Resource Development for development of educational facilities on Railways including 50 Kendriya Vidyalayas in Civil Sector in 11th & 12th Five Year Plan periods. So far, six Kendriya Vidyalayas respectively at Carriage Repair Workshop Harnaut (Bihar), Cast Wheel Plant, Bela (Bihar), Railway Campus Nanded (Maharashtra), Railway Campus Rangiya (Assam), Freeland Ganj Railway Colony, Dahod (Gujarat) and Krishnarajapuram Diesel Loco Shed Colony Bangalore (Karnataka) have been sanctioned. It is proposed to set up five polytechnics namely at Varanasi, Machlandpur, Vadadara, Bhilai and Hubli-Dharwad. A High Powered Working Group is engaged in the process of identifying and developing suitable proposals for setting up of educational institutions on Railway premises.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Railways, Shri K.H. Muniyappa in written reply to a question in Lok Sabha yesterday.