Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Tourism
09-December-2010 11:4 IST
Progress of “Tourist Visa on Arrival” (VoA) Scheme: January –November, 2010
As a facilitative measure to attract more foreign tourists to India, Government has launched a Scheme of “Visa on Arrival” (VoA) from January 2010 for citizens of five countries, viz. Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore, visiting India for tourism purposes.

During the period January - November 2010, a total number of 5644 VoAs were issued under this Scheme.

The number of visas issued under this scheme, during January-November 2010 for nationals of the five countries were Singapore (1623), New Zealand (1604), Japan (1241), Finland (1123) and Luxembourg (53).

Total number of VoAs issued during November, 2010 were 628 with country-wise breakup as Finland (90), Japan (131), New Zealand (276), Singapore (122) and Luxemburg (9).

During the eleven month period of January–November, 2010, the maximum number of VoAs were issued at Delhi airport (3035), followed by Mumbai (1258), Chennai (1073) and Kolkata (278).