Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Earth Science
08-December-2010 17:16 IST
Setting of Telemetry Stations
The Government has made efforts to study and monitor the geological changes. Various institutions of the country – India Meteorological Department (IMD), National Geophysical Research Institute (NGRI), Hyderabad, North East Institute of Science & Technology (NEIST), Jorhat, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology (WIHG), Dehradun, Institute of Seismological Research (ISR), Gandhinagar etc., are engaged in monitoring seismic activity in different parts of the country and also carrying out GPS studies to monitor deformation due to various geological processes.

IMD is already operating a telemetry network over the national capital territory of Delhi and similar network is under establishment over the North Eastern region.

Minister of Human Resource Development, Minister of Science and Technology, Minister of Earth Sciences and Minister of Telecommunication and Information Technology Shri Kapil Sibal replied to a question by Shri Harishchandra Chavan in Lok Sabha in a written reply today.